ARARAT brandy timeline

The biography of the first Armenian ARARAT brandy is a history of generosity, passion and craftsmanship

The culture of winemaking in Armenia goes back centuries, and the Armenian brandy that is famous around the world today appeared at the end of the 19th century.

More

Armenian brandy production was started in 1887 in Yerevan by the merchant and philanthropist Nerses Tairyan, who was the first to introduce classic French alcohol production technology in his factory. He was inspired by his cousin, Vasily Tairov, who was an experienced winemaker and scientist. Nobody else recognised as well as he did nature's gift – the unique conditions of Ararat Valley and the high-quality of the local grapes.

With financial support from friends and relatives, production was fitted with Charante Type distillers and the premises were equipped for ageing spirits. Their entrepreneurial instinct did not fail the brothers, their undertaking became a technological breakthrough and opened new prospects for the brandy business in Armenia.

Hide

In just a quarter of a century, Armenian brandy gained worldwide recognition and its production reached a truly imperial scale.

More

In 1899, the successful factory was sold to the Russian company Shustov and Sons. The new owners were active industrialists and renovated the factory using the latest technology and hired the best experts. One of them, Mkrtych Musinyants, a leading expert and the author of original recipes, became the permanent manager of the factory.

In 1902, he created the first vintage brandy Fine Champagne Select (Otborny) which won the hearts of an exacting jury and brought Shustov the Grand-Prix at an exhibition in France, as well as the title of Supplier to the Court of His Imperial Majesty. The personal contribution of these talented individuals in production development resulted in Armenian brandy winning international popularity at the beginning of the 20th century.

Hide

Even revolutionary upheavals were unable to shake the significance of brandy production and only managed to emphasise its status as a national treasure.

More

But even so, it is not the many awards and international fame rapidly won by the Armenian brandy that were the main achievement of Mkrtych Musinyants, but the valuable spirits which he created and which, to this day, are carefully stored in the Yerevan Brandy Company. When the revolution reached Armenia, it was accompanied by pogroms and looting, so it took Musinyants' bravery and decisiveness to protect the national heritage lying in the brandy ageing oak casks.

The loss of the alcohol would have destroyed years of work of many people and the future of production itself. However, the company survived and after the revolution it was nationalised as the most valuable Armenian company. In 1923, the company joined the ARARAT trust, together with other alcohol production companies.

Hide

The Soviet era gave the world a whole range of legendary ARARAT brandies, while the Yerevan Brandy Company was given a monumental building on the right bank of the Hrazdan river.

More

The most outstanding achievements of Armenian brandy during Soviet times are inextricably linked to the name Markar Sedrakyan. He was a leading expert, a tireless creator and genius master. He dedicated his whole life and career to Armenia, which he loved with all his heart. Each of his famous brandies, Akhtamar, Nairi and Dvin, are a tribute to the centuries-old culture and history of his native country.

His creations won numerous gold and silver medals at national and international competitions, while Sedrakyan was awarded the title Master of all Masters and the Knight of Tasting medal. However, the master's most significant achievement was the development of brandy production and its move to the new Yerevan Brandy Company building in 1953.

Hide

In 1998, the Yerevan Brandy Company became part of Pernod Ricard Group, the world's leader in the Premium spirits industry. Cherishing the traditions of Armenian brandy-making Pernod Ricard elevated them to a whole new level and gave ARARAT brandies new opportunities to develop on the international market.

More

Пожалуйста, поверните устройство
для продолжения просмотра сайта

Stay up-to-date with ARARAT news and events

To receive ARARAT newsletters, please fill in the form below:

Your contact details:

Date of birth*:

Enter the code shown on picture:

Thank you for interest in ARARAT.

Ask a question

If you would like to ask a question, leave a review or report a problem, please fill in the form below:

Your contact details:

Date of birth*:

Please choose from the list below what is the reason for your question about ARARAT:*

  • product quality
  • where to buy
  • authenticity
  • producer
  • partnership
  • visit/tour
  • other

If you would like to visit Yerevan Brandy Company and ARARAT Museum, please fill in «Visit us» form.

Enter the code shown on picture:

Your question is sent. Thank you for interest in ARARAT.

THANK YOU FOR YOUR REQUEST

to send a booking request to ARARAT Museum tour/tasting, please fill the form below:

Your contact details:

Your location:

Date of birth*:

INFORMATION ON TOURS

Choose visit date:*

Choose tour language:

Enter the code shown on picture:

We will contact you soon for the confirmation of the date and time of your ARARAT tour/tasting

Let as many people as possible see Your peace message! Find on the wall the fragment with Your inscription and share it with friends via social networks.

История коньяка АРАРАТ

Биография первого армянского коньяка АРАРАТ — это история щедрости, страсти и мастерства

Культура виноделия в Армении насчитывает не одно тысячелетие, а знаменитый сегодня во всем мире армянский коньяк появился на свет в конце XIX века.

Подробнее

Начало армянского коньячного производства было положено в 1887 году в Эривани купцом и филантропом Нерсесом Таиряном, впервые внедрившим на своем заводе классическую французскую технологию выкурки спирта. На этот шаг его вдохновил кузен, Василий Таиров: опытный винодел и ученый, он как никто другой мог оценить щедрый подарок природы — уникальные условия Араратской долины и высокое качество местного винограда.

При финансовой поддержке друзей и родственников, производство оснастили перегонными аппаратами шарантского типа и оборудовали помещение для выдержки спиртов. Предпринимательское чутье не подвело братьев — их начинание стало технологическим прорывом и открыло новые перспективы для коньячного делав Армении.

Скрыть

Всего за четверть века армянский коньяк добился международного признания, а его производство приобрело подлинно имперский размах.

Подробнее

Когда в 1899 году успешное предприятие перешло к российскому товариществу «Шустов и сыновья», новые владельцы — деятельные промышленники, реконструировали завод по последнему слову техники и привлекли к работе лучших специалистов. Один из них, Мкртыч Мусинянц, выдающийся технолог и автор оригинальных рецептур, стал бессменным управляющим завода, а также автором первого армянского марочного коньяка «Финь-Шампань Отборный» (1902).

Именно творения Мусинянца, покорив сердца придирчивого иностранного жюри, принесли Шустовым Гран-при на выставке во Франции, а также звание «Поставщика двора Его Императорского Величества». Личный вклад этих талантливых людей в развитие производства привел к тому, что в начале ХХ века армянский коньяк завоевал поистине международную популярность.

Скрыть

Даже революционные потрясения не смогли пошатнуть значимость коньячного производства и лишь подчеркнули его статус национального достояния Армении.

Подробнее

И все же не многочисленные награды и мировая слава, стремительно настигшая армянский коньяк, стали главной заслугой Мкртыча Мусинянца, а основанный им драгоценный запас спиртов, и по сей день бережно хранящихся на Ереванском Коньячном Заводе. Когда Армению охватило пламя революции, сопровождавшейся погромами и грабежами, защита национального достояния — заложенных в дубовые бочки на выдержку коньячных спиртов, потребовала от Мусинянца мужества и решительности.

Потеря спиртов уничтожила бы многолетний труд сотен людей, да и будущее самого производства. Однако завод уцелел, и после революции в качестве ценнейшего армянского предприятия был национализирован. А в 1923 году в числе прочих компаний, производящих алкоголь в Армении, вошел в трест «АРАРАТ».

Скрыть

Советская эпоха подарила миру целую гамму легендарных коньяков АРАРАТ, а самому Ереванскому Коньячному Заводу — его монументальное здание на правом берегу реки Раздан.

Подробнее

Самые яркие достижения армянского коньяка в период Советского союза неразрывно связаны с именем Маркара Седракяна. Выдающийся специалист, неутомимый творец и гениальный мастер, он всю свою жизнь и творческий путь посвятил Армении, которую любил беззаветно. Каждый из знаменитых коньяков его авторства: Ахтамар, Наири, Двин — дань памяти многовековой культуре и истории родной страны.

На всесоюзных и всемирных конкурсах его творения завоевали множество золотых и серебряных наград, а самому Седракяну принесли звание «Мастера Мастеров» и медаль «Рыцарь дегустации». Однако самой значимой победой мастера стало развитие коньячного производства и его перевод в 1953 году в новое здание Ереванского Коньячного Завода.

Скрыть

В 1998 году Ереванский Коньячный Завод вошел в состав компании Pernod Ricard Group, мирового лидера в производстве алкогольной продукции премиум-класса. Бережно сохраняя традиции коньячного дела Армении, Pernod Ricard подняла на новую высоту стандарты качества продукции и открыла для коньяков АРАРАТ широкие возможности развития на международном рынке.

Подробнее

Пожалуйста, поверните устройство
для продолжения просмотра сайта

Оставайтесь в курсе событий АРАРАТ

Чтобы получать новости легендарного коньяка АРАРАТ, заполните, пожалуйста, форму ниже:

Как к Вам можно обращаться:

Дата Рождения*:

Введите код, указанный на картинке:

Спасибо за интерес к АРАРАТ.

Задайте вопрос

Чтобы задать вопрос, оставить отзыв или сообщить о проблеме, заполните, пожалуйста, форму ниже:

Как к Вам можно обращаться:

Дата Рождения*:

Выберите, пожалуйста, из списка, с чем связан Ваш вопрос о коньяке АРАРАТ:*

  • качество
  • где купить
  • подлинность
  • производитель
  • сотрудничество
  • экскурсия
  • другое

Если вы хотите посетить Ереванский Коньячный Завод и ARARAT Museum, пожалуйста заполните форму «Стать гостем АРАРАТ».

Введите код, указанный на картинке:

Ваш вопрос отправлен. Спасибо за интерес к АРАРАТ.

СПАСИБО ЗА ВАШЕ ОБРАЩЕНИЕ

чтобы оставить заявку на посещение/дегустацию ARARAT Museum, пожалуйста, заполните форму ниже:

Как к Вам можно обращаться:

Ваши координаты:

Дата Рождения*:

Информация об экскурсии

Выберите дату посещения:*

Выберите язык экскурсии:

Введите код, указанный на картинке:

Мы свяжемся с вами в ближайшее время для подтверждения даты и времени вашего посещения/ дегустации ARARAT Museum

Пусть Ваше послание о мире увидит как можно больше людей! Найдите фрагмент стены с Вашей надписью и поделитесь им с друзьями в социальных сетях.